1. Home

Mentor Announces 28th PCB Technology Leadership Award Winners

Plano, TX

Mentor, a Siemens business, today announced the winners for its 28th printed circuit board (PCB) Technology Leadership Awards. Established in 1988, this program is the longest-running competition of its kind in the electronic design automation (EDA) industry. The program recognizes engineers and designers who use innovative methods and design tools to address highly complex PCB system design challenges and produce industry-leading products.

Prominent experts in the PCB industry judged entries from around the world in categories representing a wide variety of markets and industries, including:

  • Computers, blades and servers, memory systems
  • Consumer electronics and handheld designs
  • Industrial control, instrumentation, security and medical applications
  • Military and aerospace solutions
  • Telecom, network controllers, line cards
  • Transportation and automotive designs

The PCB Technology Leadership Awards contest is open to any designs created with Mentor PCB solutions. Judging is based on design complexity and overcoming associated challenges, such as small form factors, high-speed protocols, multi-discipline team collaboration, advanced PCB fabrication technologies, and design-cycle time reduction.

The panel of expert judges this year included Dr. Rajan Bedi, Spacechips CEO and founder; Stephen Chavez, Collins Aerospace staff engineer and global technical lead, CID+; Michael R. Creeden, Insulectro technical director design education, CID+; Gary Ferrari, FTG Circuits technical support director; Rick Hartley, RHartley Enterprises principal engineer; Steve Herbstman, SHLC founder and lead designer; Happy Holden, Gentex Corporation (retired); Pete Waddell, president of UP Media and publisher of Printed Circuit Design & Fab/Circuits Assembly Magazine; and Susy Webb, Fairfield Nodal senior PCB designer.

2020 Technology Leadership Award Winners

Best Overall Design

  • Company: Infinera
  • Design team: Infinera & Jabil Team
  • Using: Xpedition™ Enterprise software

Computers, Blade & Servers, Memory Systems

  • Company: ZTE
  • Design team: Zhang Meijuan, Guo Qian, Yao Xueying, Fan Xiaxia, Meng Liqiang, Ao Xiaodong & Zhang Hailong
  • Using: Xpedition Enterprise

Consumer Electronics & Handheld

  • Company: Tessolve Semiconductor
  • Design team: ATE Design Team
  • Using: Xpedition Enterprise

Industrial Control, Instrumentation, Security & Medical

  • Company: CiBOARD electronic
  • Design team: Thomas Blasko & Michael Schwitzer
  • Using: Xpedition Enterprise

Military & Aerospace

  • Company: Abaco Systems
  • Design team: Jim Rose, Rob Savage, James McDonald & Martin McGregor
  • Using: Xpedition Enterprise

Telecom, Network Controllers, Line Cards

  • Company: Sienna Ecad Technologies
  • Design team: Rajkumar Ramadoss, Narasimha Rao & Vijayakumar K
  • Using: Xpedition Enterprise

Transportation & Automotive

  • Company: Nobo Automotive Systems
  • Design team: Li Yue, Wang Zelong, Huang Wenjuan, Cheng Xunzhuang, Lu Shuai & Tong Qi
  • Using: Xpedition Enterprise

Honorable Mention

  • Company: Adcom
  • Design team: Moshe Frid, Greg Kaplan, Galya Makloof, Boris Abramovich, Tamir Yampolsky & Haim Anava
  • Using: Xpedition Enterprise
  • Company: Honeywell Technology Solutions Lab
  • Design team: Siddanagouda Bhasagi, Veeresh Goure & Mayank Bhaintwal
  • Using: Xpedition Enterprise
  • Company: Tessolve Semiconductor - 1271
  • Design team: SathishKumar Kalaiselvan, Manikandan Ravi, Karthick Sathiyaseelan & Kishore Subramani
  • Using: PADS™ software
  • Company: Honeywell Technology Solutions Lab - 1322
  • Design team: Mayank Bhaintwal, Veeresh Goure & Siddanagouda Bhasagi
  • Using: Xpedition Enterprise

An on-demand webinar highlighting industry trends and the winners of the 2020 Mentor PCB Technology Leadership Awards competition is available at https://bit.ly/39bWjTf.